top of page
  • Tori Madison

Winter Break Up - Carrie Aarons


a hand holding a kindle near a small waterfall with the book Bittersweet by Carrie Aarons on the screen

Review:

I’m slowly starting to get into holiday books and this one was really sweet! It was the perfect ease into the holiday spirit.


Thoughts:

-This was a brother's best friend, second-chance romance book, which had me over the moon! I loved the second-chance part especially - you could feel both the lingering chemistry and hurt between Emily and Mercer. I do wish we got to see more of Emily’s brother's reaction to their situation, but I still love the complexities the brother's best friend trope lends to

-I loved both Mercer and Emily, but especially Emily. She was so incredibly relatable

-The Christmas tree farm added a sweet element to the book. I loved the traditions rooted throughout the story and the little interactions with customers

-I do wish it was a little longer, I think characters could have been developed deeper to give more meaning to the relationships

-My main qualm was both characters seemed to go on and on about their relationship: Emily about her regrets breaking up with Mercer years prior, and Mercer about how Emily broke his heart yet he still loved her. It was obviously an important aspect of the book, it just felt repeated quite often

-I absolutely loved Mercer’s relationship with his grandpa, that may have been my favorite part of the whole book


Overall, I enjoyed this book! If you like Hallmark Christmas movies with a little bit of spice, pick this one up!


Thank you Greys Promotions and Carrie Aarons for a gifted copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!


Rating:

3.5/5 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️💫

Contact Us

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
Book-Blurbs-by-Michelle-Aviva.png

Logo & Currently Reading Banner by Made By Michelle Aviva

© 2021 by BookBlurbs13

bottom of page