top of page
  • Tori Madison

The Summer I Turned Pretty - Jenny Han

YA, warm feelings, summer drama


Review:

This series forever holds a special place in my heart. When I first read it, I related so much to Belly’s relationship with Conrad that I must have read the series cover to cover over 20 times that year alone. With the tv show coming out, it was time for a re-read.


This book oozes summer. Everything about it feels golden, like even though life is happening everything is okay because it’s summer and the four kids are together. Sibling duos Conrad & Jeremiah and Steven & Belly have such a unique dynamic - it feels like half best friends and half family.


The book switches between current times and flashbacks to the kids at different ages at the beach house. Han captured the dynamic of growing up and finding yourself in the midst of young drama perfectly. The current summer revolves around Belly growing into herself and everyone taking notice, especially Conrad and Jeremiah.


I’ll be honest, in the first book, Belly is my least favorite. She’s whiny, selfish, and kind of annoying. Sometimes I think you can equate her behavior to her being young, but other times it’s just blatantly her own fault.


Conrad and Jeremiah are equally beautiful. Jeremiah - sweet, sweet Jer. There is not one bad thing you can say about him. He's always been Belly's confidant, the one to hang back with her when she was left behind. He has such a big, open heart - he feels deeply and shares it willingly. Conrad, on the other hand, is the deep, brooding soul. He shows his love for everyone in small, hidden ways and hides everything that is bothering him. His tight lip and grumpy persona is just that, a persona - he feels just as much as Jeremiah. Their unique relationships with Belly are endearing, but what I really love is their relationship with each other. They have a variety of unspoken issues and don’t always understand each other, but their fierce protectiveness of each other tugs at the heartstrings.


I think I could write an entire dissertation about how much this book has meant to me over the years and how nostalgic I feel towards it, but I’ll end it here. If you’re looking for a warm YA book, this is your go-to.


Rating:

5/5 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Contact Us

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
Book-Blurbs-by-Michelle-Aviva.png

Logo & Currently Reading Banner by Made By Michelle Aviva

© 2021 by BookBlurbs13

bottom of page