top of page
  • Tori Madison

The Cruel Prince - Holly Black

Fantasy, family struggles, YA


Review:

First of all, I have to say this book is so pretty - from the chapter pages to the map, I loved the look! I enjoyed this book but I was definitely hoping for a little more.


Thoughts:

-The first chapter started out so strong. Black really pulled you into the story and made you attached to the three sisters

-Jude is such a badass character, I love how independent and self-assured she is while also always looking out for her family

-Vivi was the best sister of the three. She only wanted what was best for them and I hope we get more of her in future books

-I felt there could have been more character development for all of the characters and more world building

-It shows how each sister responded to their trauma differently very well

-I cannot wait until we uncover the Carden under the asshole “cruel prince” persona

-Gave red wedding Game of Thrones vibes

-The complex relationship between Jude and her twin is something I am excited to learn more of as the books progress


All in all, I thought it was a solid start to a YA fantasy series and I’m excited to read the next book!


Rating:

3.5/5 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️💫

Contact Us

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
Book-Blurbs-by-Michelle-Aviva.png

Logo & Currently Reading Banner by Made By Michelle Aviva

© 2021 by BookBlurbs13

bottom of page