top of page
  • Tori Madison

The Christmas Scramble - Alexis Buxton


a hand holding a kindle near a small waterfall with the book Bittersweet by Carrie Aarons on the screen

Review:

This was such a cute Christmas spirit novella! This was the first book I read by Alexis Buxton and I will definitely be reading more!


I loved Macy’s commitment to making Gregg love Christmas. Their chemistry was through the roof and so sweet to read. I loved Gregg’s vulnerability throughout the book as he went through the grief of having a stroke and the aftermath that came with it.


Macy’s family was so fun to read. I wish we got even more time at the cabin with her brothers and parents. The cabin gave such cozy, warm feelings while reading and I was a little jealous that my parents didn’t own a string of Christmas cabins. Also, helloooo hot tub scene (heart eye emoji)


My only wish was this was a longer book to give the storylines a little more time to develop. I didn’t fully connect with some of the storylines, such as why Gregg originally called Macy his girlfriend or why Macy was fighting with her friends, because there wasn’t enough time to develop those storylines in the number of pages that lend to a novella. I also wish we got more of Gregg’s complicated relationship with his family.


Overall, I really enjoyed the writing in this novella! It was a sweet and spicy read to get you in the Christmas spirit. I wish it was a full book, but I will definitely be coming back for more of this author!


Thank you Alexis Buxton for a gifted copy of this novella in exchange for an honest review!


Rating:

4/5 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Contact Us

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
Book-Blurbs-by-Michelle-Aviva.png

Logo & Currently Reading Banner by Made By Michelle Aviva

© 2021 by BookBlurbs13

bottom of page