top of page
  • Tori Madison

One Italian Summer - Rebecca Serle


a hand holding a kindle near a small waterfall with the book Bittersweet by Carrie Aarons on the screen

Review:

I think it’s time for me to admit to myself that Rebecca Serle’s writing may not be for me. This is the third book i’ve read by her that I love the concept of, but the execution falls flat for me.


First and foremost, The magic realism just didn’t work for me. I wasn’t expecting it and I thought it felt odd. I would have enjoyed this storyline more if it was a dream and not whatever it turned out to be - because to be honest I’m still not sure


The main concept of the book was Katy coming to terms with her mothers death. The main issue with this was I simply did not like Katy. I thought her obsession with her mom was a little creepy. At 30 years old she was obsessed with the concept that she was the number one person in her moms life and had always been. She was honestly a bit delusional in thinking her mom did not have a life before her or during her. I get being close with your mom, but Katy seemed to have an unhealthy obsession with hers. The extent she emphasized her mom being the love of her life was bizarre, like what about her husband??


I did however think Serle did a great job transporting the reader to Italy. It felt like a warm summer day under the Italian sun reading the parts about her being out and about in Italy.


The other reason I gave this a 3.5 was because even though it was done in an overly obsessive way, I understand the point Serle was trying to make. It showed the grief people go through losing a parent and how so much of our identities are tied to our parents. How even as adults, we tend to rely on our parents for so much and how lost we are without them. That we always think our parents have all of the answers an how life shattering it can feel when we realize they don't know everything. Lastly, I think it shows how children think they know everything about their parents, but in actuality, we only know what they choose to show us and who they are now. They lived a whole life before us.


Did I enjoy this book? Not really. Do I think it had potential and good themes? Yes. So take from this what you will and if you’ve read this, let me know your thoughts!


Rating:

3.5/5 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️💫

Contact Us

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
Book-Blurbs-by-Michelle-Aviva.png

Logo & Currently Reading Banner by Made By Michelle Aviva

© 2021 by BookBlurbs13

bottom of page