top of page
  • Tori Madison

Once Upon A Broken Heart - Stephanie Garber


a hand holding a kindle near a small waterfall with the book Bittersweet by Carrie Aarons on the screen

Review:

So this was definitely more YA than I expected, but I still enjoyed it and all of it’s magical aspects!


Thoughts:

-This book had a good amount of twists that keeps me guessing

-I love a book with a good prophecy and this one’s was really enjoyable to read

-I absolutely loved Jacks. I wanted more of him! And him calling Evangeline “Little Fox” was such a swoony nickname (heart eye)

-I didn’t love the addition of vampires - it just didn’t seem necessary

-Evangeline was a little too naive and trusting for my liking, but she also grew up with parents who sheltered her and told her only the good of magic so it’s somewhat understandable. That didn’t stop me from wanting to shake some sense into her sometimes though

-I saw criticisms for how trusting Evangeline was of her step-sister, Marisol, but I can understand Garber’s writing their relationship this way. Evangeline had just lost her father, the only real family she had, it’s no surprise that she was clinging to anyone who could be family.


This book left me with more questions than answers. I enjoyed it, but I’m not sure it pulled me in enough to continue the series. I read this over a year ago (I know, I know - a bit of a delayed review), so I may try a re-read and to continue the series.


Rating:

4/5 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Contact Us

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
Book-Blurbs-by-Michelle-Aviva.png

Logo & Currently Reading Banner by Made By Michelle Aviva

© 2021 by BookBlurbs13

bottom of page