top of page
  • Tori Madison

Meant To Be - Emily Giffin



Review:

I’m a big fan of Emily Giffin’s writing so imagine my happiness when I found an arc copy of Meant To Be in my local free little library 😍


Thoughts:

-The first half was a bit slow with the backstory of Joe and Cate’s lives growing up

-I’ll be honest, I hated Joe in the beginning. He was boring and just a typical obnoxiously rich trust fund kid. But I did grow to like him by the end and who he grew up to be

-Both Joe and Cate seemed to lack dimension

-Berry irritated me from the start. She was possessive and her relationship with Joe’s mom was borderline boundary-pushing. I knew what Giffin was pointing us toward with this character, but every chapter she was in made me angry

-This book is highly based on/influenced by the Kennedy family and their many tragedies. As someone who is also very interested in the Kennedy’s from a young age, I found the parallels to JFK Jr. and Carolyn Bessette Kennedy fascinating. Meant To Be posed the question of what if things turned out differently for the couple? It gave them the ending these two could have lived had the Kennedy curse not struck them

-The end of this book pulled it up from a 3.5 to a solid 4. Joe and Cate really wound up making me root for them


Was this my favorite book by Emily Giffin? No. But it was an enjoyable, easy read with a sweet romance!


Rating:


4/5 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Contact Us

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
Book-Blurbs-by-Michelle-Aviva.png

Logo & Currently Reading Banner by Made By Michelle Aviva

© 2021 by BookBlurbs13

bottom of page