top of page
  • Tori Madison

It Ends With Us - Colleen Hoover

emotional, domestic violence, family ties


Review:

CoHo re-read #3

Next up on the CoHo re-read tour! It’s no question that I devour anything CoHo writes, but I have to admit that It Ends With Us is one of the lower books on my list. Let’s get into it:


(+)

-This book has such an important storyline and I think it shows that abuse can come in many different forms and not every toxic relationship has the same formula

-I absolutely adore Atlas and the innocence of his relationship with Lily

-It beautifully shows how you can talk yourself in and out of anything if you love someone enough and how quickly that mindset can turn toxic and dangerous

-Atlas being a consistent safe haven for Lily is beautiful

-Atlas’ friends were the perfect dose of happiness this story needed

-The ending dialogue between Lily and Ryle at the end of the book was incredibly moving and an important message that absolutely made me cry


(-)

-The journal entries are incredibly annoying. I love the idea of them, but them being written to Ellen along with the ‘just keep swimming’ quote being repeated at nauseam started to grate on my nerves after a while. Once the journal entries ended, the book got exponentially more enjoyable

-Overall, most of it was too corny for me

-I think a large issue I have is we didn’t see enough of the “good” parts of Ryle for me to get attached to him or like him in the slightest


I’m torn on this book, but the second half turned it around enough for me to give it four stars. I typically skim the authors notes section, but this is one that is incredibly important to read in full. Read it, process it, and digest it. While it’s not my favorite CoHo book, it brings light to a difficult and important subject in a real way. Please read trigger warnings before reading.


Rating:

4/5 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Contact Us

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
Book-Blurbs-by-Michelle-Aviva.png

Logo & Currently Reading Banner by Made By Michelle Aviva

© 2021 by BookBlurbs13

bottom of page