top of page
  • Tori Madison

Hello Stranger - Katherine Center


a hand holding a kindle near a small waterfall with the book Bittersweet by Carrie Aarons on the screen

Review:

This was a cute pallet-cleansing romcom! For me, this was a bop, but not a banger. Katherine Center’s writing is always solid, but the story didn’t pull me in as much as I expected. That being said, I still enjoyed it!


Thoughts:

-Sadie having facial blindness was an interesting storyline and it’s always nice to see representation in books. I didn’t know much about the inner workings of facial blindness, so it was interesting to learn about

-Sadie’s step-sister felt a little too evil Disney princess to be believable and enjoyable to read

-I think a major issue I had was I did not feel connected with the vet love interest storyline - I understand Sadie latching onto him because of her trauma, but I just couldn’t care less about her obsession with him

-It was incredibly interesting watching her find adaptive ways to pursue her art despite not being able to see faces. Center did an incredible job showing how people with disabilities adapt and find ways to pursue their passions in different ways

-It was a predictable ending, but Center’s author’s note at the end about the magic behind romance and the comfort in the predictability of a romance novel was so important to read. Often times criticisms of romance books are their predictability (I’m guilty of doing this too), but Center framed that predictability in such an eye-opening way by saying when you know you are reading a romance with a happily ever after, you can just sit back and enjoy the story. I thought this was such an important perspective to take in and remember while reading


There’s no doubt that Katherine Center is a great writer, but while this was a good romance, it fell a little flat for me. I would still recommend it if you’re looking for a sweet romance!


Thank you Katherine Center, St. Martin’s Press and Netgalley for a #gifted copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!


Rating:

4/5 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Contact Us

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
Book-Blurbs-by-Michelle-Aviva.png

Logo & Currently Reading Banner by Made By Michelle Aviva

© 2021 by BookBlurbs13

bottom of page