top of page
  • Tori Madison

Every Summer After - Carley Fortune

Friends to lovers, second chance romance, past and present POV


Review:

This was one of my most anticipated reads of the year and it did not disappoint! Fortune tied a sweet childhood best friends and second chance romance all into one summer read.


Positives:

-I loved that Percy was sort of being forced to go back to her beloved childhood get away and face her past mistakes and her ex

-Fortune choosing to tell the story by alternating from the past to present really brought you into their world and made you feel just how intense young love and regret can feel

-Percy’s fear of not being good enough for the person you love was too relatable and made a character I wasn’t the biggest fan of likable

-It showed how death has a way of bringing people back together, no matter how unlikely

-Every Summer After shows just how messy love can be at any age, but especially when you’re young


Negatives

-Percy and Sam’s lack of communication through the whole book is a huge part of why this book lost a star for me

-I wish we saw more of Charlie and Sam’s brother bond and ups and downs of their relationship

-The climax and ending felt a bit rushed at the end

-It was very similar to Love and Other Words by Christina Lauren and I found myself comparing the two too often


All in all, it was a solid read. Fortune is a great writer and the story pulled me in. I wish the characters could have been flushed out more and given more depth, but I loved them regardless. All in all, she spun a sweet story about heartbreak, forgiveness, and love.


Rating:

4/5 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Contact Us

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
Book-Blurbs-by-Michelle-Aviva.png

Logo & Currently Reading Banner by Made By Michelle Aviva

© 2021 by BookBlurbs13

bottom of page