top of page
  • Tori Madison

Book Lovers - Emily Henry

For book lovers, small town romance, slow burn


Review:

Emily Henry’s writing has a beautiful way of making you feel every emotion all at once, even the ones you didn’t know you had and her writing in this book was no different. I’ll be honest, this book took me a few chapters to really get into, but once I did, I flew through it.


(+)

-Slow burn central!! I’m a sucker for a slow build-up and Nora and Charlie were the slow burn of all slow burns

-The family dynamics in this were incredible. I love how much of this book was focused on the growing pains of siblings trying to stay close as their worlds drift apart. Henry depicted the older/younger sibling dynamic with striking accuracy

-At first, I was so-so on Nora. I appreciate her fierceness, but cold characters aren’t necessarily my cup of tea. But as we peeled back her layers, I grew to love her

-Charlie was oh so sweet

-I, of course, cried at the end like I have a habit of doing with Emily Henry's books


(-)

-Nora’s sister felt fairly one-dimensional for most of the book

-While the small town was supposed to poke fun at other romcom perceptions of small towns, I think it was taken too far. The setting felt fake and inconsistent which made it hard to immerse myself in the world

-While Charlie was sweet, I needed more. We know what we needed to, but I can’t give him the title of ‘ideal book boyfriend’ because truthfully I don’t feel like we know him enough. Henry dipped her toe into his family life and why he acts how he does, but I needed more to fall in love with him

-The ‘twist’ at the end was quite predictable, but most solid romcoms are so I didn’t hate it


All in all, I think it is a safe bet that you can’t go wrong with an Emily Henry book. It was a loved book club pick with my friend and I highly recommend it!!


Rating:

4.5/5 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️💫

Contact Us

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
Book-Blurbs-by-Michelle-Aviva.png

Logo & Currently Reading Banner by Made By Michelle Aviva

© 2021 by BookBlurbs13

bottom of page