top of page
  • Tori Madison

Beneath The Ice - L.A. Cotton


a hand holding a kindle near a small waterfall with the book Bittersweet by Carrie Aarons on the screen

Review:

This was the most refreshing hockey romance I’ve read in a long time! Rather than have the playboy hockey player suddenly fall head over heals for a girl (a formula we all know & love, but can feel redundant), L.A. Cotton wrote a love story of an already established couple. Beneath The Ice takes you through the ups and downs of Connor and Ella’s relationship and what happens when external factors interfere.


Thoughts:

-I already loved Connor in his cameos in the previous books so this just made me love him more. I especially love his friendship with Rory, which shone in this book

-I wish we got more of Ella’s life and future plans outside of Connor, but I still loved her energy and how fiercely she loved Connor and her friends. I particularly loved her budding friendship with Austin who was difficult to get to open up - I think that showed the trustworthiness of her character

-The conflict between Ella and Connor’s parents added such great drama to the storyline

-Connor and Ella’s relationship was so sweet to read. You could feel the love and comfort of their relationship

-Cotton’s exploration of the depression athletes get after a potentially career ending injury drove the storyline forward in such a great way

-The team comradery was strong in this one

-My only qualm was there were some cringy parts (for those who read, hint: Connor walking onto the ice) and Connor calling Ella “Kitten.” But I was able to get past both because the rest of the book was just super enjoyable


Personally, this is my favorite in the Lakeshore U series and I can’t wait to read Austin’s story next!


Thank you @authorlacotton for this book in exchange for an honest review!


Rating:

4.5/5 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️💫

Contact Us

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
Book-Blurbs-by-Michelle-Aviva.png

Logo & Currently Reading Banner by Made By Michelle Aviva

© 2021 by BookBlurbs13

bottom of page