top of page
  • Tori Madison

Because You Loved Me - Beth Moran

quirky, found family, trauma


Review:

I don’t know what I thought going into this book, but it took me on a wild ride I didn’t expect. Beth Moran spun an incredibly endearing and quirky read in Because You Loved Me. The beginning was a bit slow and took some time to get into, but once it hit the ground running I couldn’t put it down.


(+)

-The setting, Peace, and Pigs campsite, was sweet and made you feel warm at the thought of it

-The found family trope was done extremely well. Everyone was a little lost but the support they showed each other gave them strength

-Scarlett was an incredible character who I would kill to read a prequel about her life

-I loved that this wasn’t an overt romance. It was more a story of finding yourself in unexpected ways, forgiveness, and getting your life together

-Sometimes supporting characters are just as lovable and needed as the main characters and that’s exactly what happened here! I loved almost all of the supporting characters, especially the Hawthornes

-The mystery of what happened to Marion's father that drove him out of that same town years before Marion was born added a nice mystery undertone


(-)

-Jake’s entire character arc and storyline brought my rating down a bit. Parts of him felt forced while other issues with him felt too easily resolved. Things being too easily resolved was a big drawback for most of the various storylines here

-I wish we got more of Marion digging into her father’s past. That seemed to be the main storyline from the synopsis, but in actuality, it wasn’t that big of a part

-Even though we find out the reasoning at the end, the threatening messages throughout the book just didn’t seem to fit with the vibe of the story

-Some storylines seemed to come out of nowhere and it was a bit chaotic at points


Despite the chaos, this book kept my interest. It was fun and quirky and I genuinely enjoyed it. Thank you to Beth Moran, Netgalley, and Boldwood Books for the opportunity to review this book!


Rating:

3/5 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️💫

Contact Us

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
Book-Blurbs-by-Michelle-Aviva.png

Logo & Currently Reading Banner by Made By Michelle Aviva

© 2021 by BookBlurbs13

bottom of page