top of page
  • Tori Madison

Archer’s Voice - Mia Sheridan

small town romance


Review:

Okay, so I guess I’m super in the minority here, but I did not enjoy this book and I’m just as upset about it as you are.


(-)

-My first qualm is it was waaaay too insta-love for me which is my least favorite trope. Bree ran into Archer for 2 minutes, exchanged no form of communication, and then proceeded to obsess over him for days

-Archer’s innocence and lack of knowledge of the outside world made Bree’s advances feel kind of icky

-It felt like she was using him as her project to distract her from dealing with her own shit - especially because he filled the hole her father left as someone she could communicate through sign language to

-There were a lot of word usages that made me cringe, like “ample bosom”

-All we know about these characters is their trauma and their sex life. Who are they outside of that??

-Archer’s aunt’s storyline felt like it was just dropped in there for the sake of conflict. She felt like a far away, made up villain

-The ending also through me for such a loop. It just felt incredibly ridiculous


(+)

-The side characters were entertaining enough. Bree’s neighbor, the diner owners, and Bree’s hometown friends all brought the needed zest to the book

-As someone who took sign language in high school, I loved this representation


This one was sadly not my cup of tea, but I know it’s a favorite of a lot of people, so maybe give it a try!


Rating:

2.5/5 Stars ⭐️⭐️💫

Comments


bottom of page