top of page
  • Tori Madison

A Little Moore Action - Sara L. Hudson

Workplace romance, family drama, hairless cats


Plot:

Elvis-obsessed Bell King was run out of NYC years ago by a jealous co-worker. Determined to not let that ruin her, she made a name for herself in the marketing world in Texas. After her talents start being highlighted nationwide, she's hired to revive the Moore department store's marketing. The only problem is it's back in NYC. Can she face her fears of that tumultuous time in her life? Or will her past come back to haunt her?


Chase Moore has taken over his family's business much to the dismay of his father. determined to save his family business for the people who worked there and helped raise him as a child, he hires Bell King of King Marketing to help. Will Chase's intense family drama ruin the family business and their relationships forever? Will Bell and Chase's instant connection threaten to tear everything down around them?

Review:

I was going back and forth between 2.5 and 3 stars for this one, but ultimately it was just too cringey for me. The storyline was entertaining - marketing guru (Bell) is run out of the city because of a scandal only to return years later to redeem herself by running a major campaign and simultaneously trying not to fall for her client (Chase). I know with romcoms you often have to suspend some reality, but everyone in this book was so unprofessional that it lost all realism. The side characters were the saving grace.

Chase is the typical playboy we often see and love in romcoms, but so much of his personality felt fabricated and too cocky for a likable main guy. He did eventually grow on me once the storyline with his family progressed and we started to see the real him, but I felt unconnected with him for too long to actually care about him. Bell was cool at first, but the biggest thing I couldn’t get over was all of the Elvis references. I’m all for music references in books, but Bell humming Elvis songs to go along with every plot point felt awkward and forced.


Their romance was another issue for me. It was entirely too insta-love for my liking. They didn’t know anything about each other, but the first time they saw each other they were ready to jeopardize their careers for each other. I didn’t find either of them particularly charming and outside of initial lust didn't understand why they were so drawn to each other so I didn’t connect with their love story.

What I did like though was Chase’s family storyline. His love for his found family, the people who worked at his family business who raised him and his sister when his father couldn’t be bothered was heartwarming. His family and the other side characters were all so lovable. Chase’s sister was a spitfire and I wish she was in the book more, but the scenes with her came to life in such a fun way. Even his straight-laced brother made me smile by the end of the book. Bell’s marketing team had a great dynamic and were all bright spots, especially Alice who blossomed as the book progressed.


I will say am intrigued by the next in the series which is going to focus on Alice and Chase’s brother, Thomas, so I’ll be keeping my eye out for that one. I do wish I enjoyed this book more, but if you’re looking for a quick bubblegum pop kind of read then give this one a try!


Thank you NetGally and Sara L. Hudson for making this book available to read in exchange for an honest review!


Rating:

2.5/5 Stars ⭐️⭐️💫

Contact Us

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
Book-Blurbs-by-Michelle-Aviva.png

Logo & Currently Reading Banner by Made By Michelle Aviva

© 2021 by BookBlurbs13

bottom of page