top of page
  • Tori Madison

28 Summers - Elin Hilderbrand



Review:

This was my first Elin Hilderbrand book and now I understand my mom’s obsession. She is a dynamite writer and this book tugged at every heartstring I have.


Thoughts:

-I didn’t want to root for Jake and Mallory, but I couldn’t help it. Hilderbrand somehow got me to not only condone cheating but cheer on both cheating parties with her writing

-The flashbacks to Jake and Mallory’s weekends together were so pure and loving. It felt like being wrapped in a warm blanket

-I want an entire story on Mallory’s son and Jake’s daughter

-The chemistry between Mallory and Jake was piping!

-The only reason this lost half a star for me was that it was so frustrating at times. The reasons Jake and Mallory weren’t together just weren’t enough for me. Mallory felt a bit desperate waiting around for three days a year with someone who had a whole other life without her

-Mallory’s sickness was heartbreaking to read from everyone's point of view. Jake, her son, her friends, her brother, and herself


This book was heartwarming, heartbreaking, and beautifully haunting. It showed the complexity of true love and how life and expectations can get in the way of your true wishes. I could not recommend this book more!


Rating:

4.5/5 Stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️💫

Comments


bottom of page